Song In My Head #27: “Jo Jo’s Jacket” by Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks

Memory can be a funny thing. While I’ve always enjoyed this track from 2001’s Stephen Malkmus, I can safely say I hadn’t thought about it in years. Then, I saw a listing for the 1973 Yul Brynner film Westworld on TV this week, and now the wah-wah guitars and winning falsetto chorus of “Jo Jo’s Jacket” are firmly ensconced in my consciousness once more. What’s the connection, you ask? The song opens with a lengthy sample of a Yul Brynner interview from a Westworld-related press junket, and the song appears to be narrated from Brynner’s perspective. (Of course, given the Malkmus penchant for impressionistic lyrics, that first verse could be a red herring…)

 

Leave a Reply

