Song In My Head #40: “Crazy Horses” by The Osmonds

Years ago, I read an interview where Beck proclaimed that “Crazy Horses” was the apex of the Osmonds’ heavy metal period. Naturally, I thought he was being facetious. (I should have known better, since Beck’s “Peaches and Cream” lifts the song’s keyboard riff, but I didn’t realize that at the time.) I found a best-of CD at a record store, and was promptly gobsmacked by the relentless intensity of this song. I love to play “Crazy Horses” for people without telling them who sings it first, though it pains me that I live in a world where that’s necessary. Anyway, it’s the hardest-rocking song ever written about air pollution, and more proof that most of the cool guys in music are named Jay.

Leave a Reply

