Logos Books and Records, how I’ll miss you!

I read the news today, oh boy:

Santa Cruz’s Logos Books and Records to close

As anyone who’s walked down Pacific Avenue (or read Going Coastal‘s “Santa Cruz Vinyl: Cutting A Groove” chapter) knows, Logos is a Santa Cruz fixture. It’s 11,000 square feet of pure enchantment for any bookworm or record hound. The entry-level floor overflows with records, CDs, DVDs, cookbooks, art books, graphic novels, fiction…you get my drift. If you tire of that (not that you could), the downstairs level has floor-to-ceiling shelves laden with humor books, children’s books, sports books, poetry books, and ever so much more. In spite of the size, the shop doesn’t overwhelm me the way some large stores can. That could be because of the clearly marked aisles and posted maps. More likely, it has to do with muscle memory: I walk into the place, and immediately I feel at home.

Logos has been part of Santa Cruz since 1969. It survived 1989’s Loma Prieta earthquake, so I’m in disbelief that high rents and digital downloading will outlive it. (My mother bellowed “I don’t believe you! I refuse to accept this!” when I told her the news.) I feel heartsick for the employees (especially Dave, the friendly bespectacled guy who turned me on to Lawrence Weschler’s fantastic book Boggs: A Comedy of Values), and certainly for owner John Livingston. I know that generations of county residents must feel the way I do, and I hope someone will take up the Logos mantle. Losing Logos forever would be disastrous for the city and lovers of culture everywhere.

What a crazy year it’s shaping up to be. The world is fraught with tension. Quintessential San Jose Shark Patrick Marleau will be a Toronto Maple Leaf this coming season. Now, a place that has brought great joy to so many is about to be shuttered permanently.

Logos, you’ll always be in my heart.

One thought on “Logos Books and Records, how I’ll miss you!

Leave a Reply

